In 2019, nearly 3 people died every day in Texas because of a car crash involving alcohol.

According to crash data from the Texas Department of Transportation, 1,008 people were killed in crashes involving alcohol in 2019 alone.

In total, there were 27,312 crashes involving alcohol. Those crashes resulted in nearly 15,000 total injuries, and over 2,200 serious injuries. Drunk driving ruins lives. It ruins the lives of the people who are injured or killed in these crashes, and it ruins the lives of the people who love and depend them.

At Grossman Law we are committed to ending drunk driving. It's why we represent victims and families of victims in lawsuits against drunk drivers. It's why we sue bars and liquor stores when they violate Texas' Dram Shop Laws. It's why founding attorney Michael Grossman serves on the MADD North Texas Advisory Board.

And it's why, beginning in the fall of 2020, we are offering a $1,500 drunk driving prevention undergraduate scholarship contest to Texas students.

Grossman Law Scholarship Contest Overview

We believe that drunk driving is 100% preventable. All it takes is for each individual person to make the decision to never drive after they've been drinking. We are asking students to write a 500 - 750 word essay describing their precise plan for never driving drunk.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Applicants must be EITHER out-going Texas high school seniors (graduating summer 2020) OR students currently enrolled in a Texas college, trade school, or university as of the start of the fall 2020 semester.
  • Applicants must apply by Friday, July 31, 2020.

Grossman Law Scholarship FAQ

What should my essay include?

We want to encourage students to think critically about situations where they might be tempted to get behind the wheel when they shouldn't, and create a specific plan for avoiding it.

What is the deadline for submission?

Applications must be received by no later than Friday, July 31, 2020.

When will the winner be selected and notified?

A winner will be selected by no later than Friday, August 14, 2020.